top of page

New year – same you! Why we should ditch new year’s resolutions

It’s that time of year again, where fitness advertising cashes in on the fact that we’ve all eaten too many biscuits and have been sitting on our bums a lot for over a week. What do you think about new year’s resolutions? Do you make them? Do you ever keep them?

IMG_3021

I think there’s a lot to be said for assessing things that you’ve achieved over the course of a year, and looking ahead to what you’d like to put in place in the next. But I also know that most new year’s resolutions involve giving up something, or becoming something entirely different. Which may set you up for failure before you’ve even begun.

How about new year’s intentions? Spring is a time of rejuvenation and can often feel overwhelming with the urge to find your “new beginning”. Instead of a drawing up a long list of resolutions of things to change, or goals that you need to achieve, how about beginning a habit of setting an intention every morning?

“Today, I promise to be kind to myself”

“Today, I will slow down and try not to rush”

“Today, I will believe in myself”

“Today, I will be my own best friend”

“Today, I will truly listen to my body and honour its needs”

Breaking down your goals into micro daily intentions make them more doable, and has the knock on effect of giving you a small regular dose of achievement, self-love and positivity if you keep your intention in mind throughout the day. And if you don’t remember, well, tomorrow is a new day, right?

It’s been a pretty amazing 2018 with ups, downs and the carousel of life in between. Sending you all the wellness, health and vitality for 2019.

Much love and thanks for being here, it’s much appreciated!

xxx

Pilates for Pregnancy

Pilates for Pregnancy by Anya HAyes


0 views0 comments
bottom of page