top of page

Wellbeing hacks for busy mamas

We all have those days where the rhythm is just “off” and from start to finish things seem to be on the wrong trajectory.

IMG_6013

I’m on Day 6 of my 66-days to positive habits – it takes an average of 66 repeated acts for humans to create habits (and sadly, much fewer to break them) and as part of creating a positive atmosphere around my daily decision making and mindset I’ve been immersing myself in positive wellbeing podcasts such as MoxieCast and the Supermum Podcast.

It’s making me much more conscious of how i can get a positive mindset back on track quickly so as not to be derailed for the entire day. It’s so easy to “write off” a day that’s started diabolically (zero sleep, lost keys, children refusing to put shoes on, more insanely awful news on the radio GAAAAAAHHH) and allow the frazzled state of mind to just gather momentum as the day progresses.

This frazzled mindset can lead to bad decision making in terms of thinking “sod it” to that packet of crisps that you don’t really even fancy, or ploughing through an entire bottle of wine and a bar of chocolate on a Tuesday evening, or staying up until way past midnight scrolling your social media or working when you could be connecting with your partner, or nourishing your soul by sleeping.

What we need for those FFS! mothering moments are:

5 easy hacks to get back on track 

1. SCENT 

I’m a big fan of squirting, swooshing, rolling and spritzing scent to uplift and energise. Thats because scent can transport you to another world in an instant. A happier, nicer smelling world. So when I’m feeling low of energy I have a few wonderful scents in my toolkit:

  1. Anything by NEOM is always gratefully received by my senses.

  2. Scentered roll on balms are simply amazing. I first discovered them at a Jody Shield event, and I’ve been hooked ever since. My favourite is the Sleep Balm at night, and during those testing moments during the day, Escape: a mixture of Oud, Frankincense and Sandalwood which instantly creates a tranquil atmosphere of a Balinese spa.

IMG_1547
  1. Earth Mama Angel Baby Happy Mama Spray saw me through both pregnancies and I still use it as a room spray for my Pregnancy Pilates classes. It’s a happy blend of energising and uplifting essential oils including lime and ginger

  2. Absolute Aromas Equilibrium blend of essential oils which includes Rose, Frankincense, Bergamot: one sniff and it instantly soothes and balances.

2. BREATHE Such a simple hack this one it shouldn’t even need saying, but, well, simplicity is key to a balanced life, no? Breathe.

In those moments where you’re having to go back into your house for the 5th time to retrieve something else you’ve forgotten, your toddler is having a meltdown and your 5 year old is cross with you for making him wear suncream, and you wonder what happened to your old life where things seemed peaceful and in control…? Those moments. Soften into the moment. Take a 5 second inhale, and allow an 8 second exhale. Ahh.

3. SMILE You’re never fully dressed without a smile. OK, sometimes legitimately you really don’t feel like smiling you feel more like growling, and that is totally normal and to be expected from a healthily balanced life.

IMG_1462.JPG

But, just occasionally, notice if you’re wearing your woes on your face without even realising it and it’s causing your soul to feel sullen and woeful too. I suffer from Bitchy Resting Face syndrome – so does Kate Moss, I’m in good company – but sometimes I allow this to linger into my internal dialogue, and it can be shrugged off very easily simply by smiling. When you smile, you fool your brain into stimulating the happy hormone response, and so it gives you an instant boost, even if it’s just a placebo. Say, CHEESE! Being goofy might then trigger an actual smile because you feel like a wally doing it.

4. CHECK IN WITH YOUR POSTURE Notice if you’re slumped forward, not breathing (see above…), tucking your bottom under, rolling your head down and squishing your heart and lungs. Open, unfurl, lengthen, look up. LOOK UP. Revitalise by imagining the effects of water on a wilting plant.

You can encourage yourself to unwilt, by opening your chest, lengthening your spine, breathing wide and full into that new space that has been created in your torso.

5. FACE PALM

There is a magic spot used in Traditional Chinese Medicine which is the point in between the brows, the third eye chakra. I once spoke to an Acupuncturist friend of mine who used to work with violent criminals on a rehabilitation programme in prison.

He said he favoured this pressure point when treating these men, which sent even the most aggressively fraught man into a blissed out space.

Karen Cannon, a blogger, wellbeing & self-love junkie, and “wisdom guru” (I love that title) interviewed psychologist Suzy Reading (who has featured here on What’s in Your Toolkit)  on her blog recently and her answer recalled my acupuncturist friend’s anecdote about this spot:

What is your go to thing for comfort when it all gets too much?

Think of Homer Simpson saying d’oh! He instantly brings his hand to his forehead. When we experience shock, this is the common place hard-wired response – to either bring the back of your hand to your brow, or if you are sitting, you rest your head in your hands. It is instantly soothing for your parasympathetic nervous system and helps mediate the stress response.

This is the first thing I turn to when I need comfort. It may be in the form of earthing my brow if I am seated at a table, if I’m on the go, I will make two gentle fists and press them into my forehead as if I were massaging imaginary horns or I surrender in a yoga childs pose. Try it!

Feel how it connects you with a feeling or peace and ease. Physically it softens your eyes and jaw and tension melts away.

So there you have it people. 5 easy hacks to get your mindset back on track.

Let me know how you get on!

0 views0 comments
bottom of page